Alpha Knight Forums
Alpha Knights Duel Academy is an online community with the sole purpose of allowing you to participate in countless events, and improve all areas of your gaming skills. Not to mentions we have a fun and welcoming community!

Summonings and Conditions Lesson

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Summonings and Conditions Lesson

Post by White Rose Dragon on Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:22 pm

Summoning & Summoning Conditions.

Now! To understand this, we're going to break this off into sections. 1. What chains are and how they work. 2. Different types of summons and 3. What can and cannot be responded to these summoning.

Remember, that this is a lesson, so I intend to explain everything as best as I can. If you're confused about anything, send me a PM or post below! and if you feel I left out something, say it as well. There will be homework at the end.

What are chains, and how do they work?
Consider chains as the platform of most rulings. Once you completely understand the mechanics of a chain, you'll have the doors open to understand more complex ruling concepts. Of course I wont get into those today, as this is just an introduction, but for now, understand that there's more to a chain then "it resolves backwards".

Now, for those who may not know what a spell speed is, I'll briefly explain it. A spell speed refers to the priority of activation a card has. ANYTHING that activates has a spell speed. Two things are important to mention here: 1. The higher the spell speed, the more priority it has and 2. Cards cannot respond to a card that has a higher spell speed than itself.

Confused? I'll bring up a few basic examples.
Green Gadget: When this card is Normal or Special Summoned: You can add 1 "Red Gadget" from your Deck to your hand.

We see that this card activates. It is not a quick effect, as it cannot be activated during another players turn or cannot be used to respond in a chain, and as such, is only spell speed 1.

Effect Veiler:
During your opponent's Main Phase: You can send this card from your hand to the Graveyard, then target 1 face-up Effect Monster your opponent controls; negate that opponent's face-up monster's effects until the end of this turn (this is a Quick Effect).

Not only does Effect Veiler explain that it is used during the opponents main phase as a response, but it even blatantly states that it is a quick effect. This means that it is speed spell 2, and can be used to respond to anything speed spell 2 or lower.

Black Horn of Heaven: When your opponent would Special Summon a monster: Negate the Special Summon, and if you do, destroy it.

Keep in mind that ONLY Counter traps are spell Speed 3, and ALL of them are. Anything below spell speed 3 CANNOT be chained to this card

Now, for traps and spells, quick play spells and ALL trap effects except that of counter-traps are speed spell 2. Anything that isnt explicitly a quick effect on a monster is automatically speed spell 1 IF it activates, and only counter traps are spell speed 3.

After this, it's the basics. A chain resolves backwards, etc, blah blah blah, don't worry too much about this.

Different types of summonings

We're going to separate summoning's into two different categories.
1. Inherent Summons
2. Non inherent summons.


Inherent summons are ones that DO NOT START A CHAIN. The summoning of these monsters cannot be chained to.
Examples of these are:
XYZ Summons
Synchro Summons
Pendelum Summons
The Special summon if monsters that don't activate (ex. Cyber Dragon, Chaos Sorcerer)


None of these start a chain, so if they're occuring, you CANT chain to it with, say, maxx "c".

Non Inherent summons do start a chain. Now, this requires a bit more explaining. Understand that anything activated starts a chain, but the simple "summon" dosen't. I'll elaborate a bit:
The Fusion summon of B. Skull Dragon
B. Skull Dragon : "Summoned Skull" + "Red-Eyes B. Dragon"
(This card is always treated as an "Archfiend" card.).

Now, understand that the simple action if it hitting the field does not start a chain. HOWEVER, in order to summon this monster, a fusion must occur. So, if, say, polymerization were activated, then the activation if it could be chained with your maxx "c".

Another example of this would be:
Summons that start a chain (Ex. Priestess of Prophecy, Mermail Abyssmegalo, Blastrer, dragon ruler of Infernos).
The activation of a card that special summons (A Hero Lives, Soul Charge, Tin Goldfish, etc.)


Now that we understand chains and the summoning's, lets get on how we can and cannot respond to these summoning's.

What can and cannot be responded to these summons

For this, we're going to bring up 4 major cards:
Thunder King Rai-Oh
Black Horn of Heaven
Bottomless Trap Hole
Solemn Warning


Firstly, Rai-Oh
Thunder King Rai-Oh:During either player's turn, when your opponent would Special Summon exactly 1 monster: You can send this face-up card to the Graveyard; negate the Special Summon, and if you do, destroy it.

I italicized the three most important points here. Firstly, during either players turn. This means, as we said before, that this is a quick effect and, as such, is speed spell 2. This can be responded to anything speed spell 2 or under.

HOWEVER

There is a second point here. "would". Notice how it says "when your opponent would special summon" and not "when a monster is special summoned. This means only "IF" a monster would hit a field, and addition to this, it also means it cannot be used to respond to the special summoning that starts a chain, meaning he can only negate Inherent summons.

And finally, "exactly 1 monster". Although Pendelum summons are inherent, Rai-Oh cannot negate it if 2 monsters are pendulum summoned at the same time.

Secondly, Black Horn of Heaven
Black Horn of Heaven: When your opponent would Special Summon a monster: Negate the Special Summon, and if you do, destroy it.

Now, we already understand this is a counter trap, and as such, ca be chained to anything speed spell 3 or lower.
HOWEVER
We have the same issue as before. It uses the term "Would" special summon a monster. This means ANYTHING non-inheret cannot be negated by black horn. It only negates inherent summons. Cyber dragon, pendulum summons, Synchro summons, etc. But Fusion summons, Plague spreader zombies, etc. are safe from the horn.

Bottomless Trap Hole:
When your opponent Summons a monster(s) with 1500 or more ATK: Destroy that monster(s) with 1500 or more ATK, and if you do, banish it.

This is a bit different. Firstly, we see that it does not have the term "would" and as such, can be responded to any kind of summon. However, we see that this time, it does not negate. This means that if it has effects that occur on its summoning or when the card would hit the field, they will always be allowed to resolve.

Solemn Warning:
When a monster(s) would be Summoned, OR when a Spell Card, Trap Card, or monster effect is activated that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster(s): Pay 2000 LP; negate the Summon or activation, and if you do, destroy that card.

Theres a lot here. Firstly, this is a counter trap, and as such, is spell speed 3, and can be chained to anything speed spell 3 or below.

Now, it does something amazing here. although it uses the term "would" showing its exclusiveness for iherent summons, it later mentions every other possible non-inherent summon. This means that this card negates EVERY possible summon.

But, and consider this a bonus, this card also negates certain effects. Allow to me elaborate: " effect is activated that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster(s)".
Now, if any card activates that, in wording, has the effect that can special summon a card, it can be negated by solemn warning. This means that solemn warning can negate the activation of Macro cosmos, or the activation of Ice Hands effect (even if Ice hand targets the set solemn warning).

Understand that for non-inherent summons, Solemn Warning negates them at activation, not after summon. For example, if your opponent uses El-Shadoll fusion, you MUST negate the spell. If you chose not to negate it, it's too late to negate the actual summon of the monster.

The card negated is the card destroyed. So in the example of El-Shaddoll fusion, only the spell would go to the grave. NOT the monster intended to be summoned.
avatar
White Rose Dragon
Member

Posts : 46
Join date : 2016-01-19

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum